The Hoya Land Office in Historic Nacogdoches
The Charles Hoya Land Office, a small unique Victorian structure with double brick walls, and doors
and windows having exterior iron shutters, was erected in 1897 on Pilar Street as a repository of
land records for Nacogdoches County. In the first part of the 19th century Sam Houston,
Thomas J. Rusk, and Adolphus Sterne owned Homes on Pilar Street which takes its name
from the early church called "Nuestra Senora del Pilar de Nacogdoches."
(Next Picture: The Hoya Garden)