A View of the West Side of the Town Square in Historic Nacogdoches
The streets around the town square and the downtown area were paved with red
brick in the early 1920's replacing the earlier irregular crude wooden blocks that
were difficult to walk and drive on when they were wet. This view, from the southeast
corner of Pilar and Pecan, looks north across the west side of the square up Pecan street
to the First United Methodist Church, established in 1838, and to the west down
Pilar street to the rear section of the Nacogdoches County Courthouse, original site
of the Old Spanish Cemetery. To the left is the unique Gothic styled Hoya Land
Office (1897) with its iron window shutters and doors, and to the right beneath the
American flag is Nacogdoches City Hall, originally the old Liberty Hotel (1891).
The south wall of the two story Hoya Building at the center of this picture reveals
the craftsmanship of Nacogdoches' master architect Diedrich W. Rulfs. Over a
period of forty years, (1880-1926) Rulfs transformed Nacogdoches into a city of
modern brick buildings, designing over 50 commercial and domestic structures in
every major architectural style. The west side of the square was the early site of
the "Red House", the Mexican garrison under the command of Colonel Piedras.
After the defeat of the Mexican troops in the Battle of Nacogdoches in 1832, the
the temporary location of Nacogdoches University. Over the past one hundred
years the facades of some of these buildings have been altered to accommodate
the many diverse establishments and the designs of the people who occupied
them, but in recent years there has been an attempt to preserve and restore
the original architectural artistry of these places.
(Next Picture: Redland Hotel)