The Redland Hotel in Historic Nacogdoches

Picture of The Redland Hotel in Historic Nacogdoches

The Redland Hotel in Historic Nacogdoches

The Redland Hotel, Nacogdoches' first modern hotel, opened in 1907 and offered guests
private bathrooms, steam heating, and a fine dining experience. The Redland provided wagon
and later bus service from the train depot. The opening was a gala affair. In 1908 presidential
candidate William Jennings Bryan stayed at the hotel and made a speech from the balcony.
Across the street from the new Nacogdoches Opera House, the Redland hosted many theatrical
companies and patrons. The Marx Brothers began their comedy routines in the Opera House
while staying at the Redland. When Stephen F. Austin State Teachers College opened in 1923,
the town celebrated with receptions at the Redland. German born architect Diedrich A. Rulfs
designed and built the Redland. His plans called for a building of pressed red brick of two types
with stone trim and equipped with every modern convenience. The original hotel, a $30,000
structure, consisted of two stories that extended to the West which were occupied by commercial
businesses on the front. Two dining rooms were located in the rear, one serving as a ballroom.
The Redland continued as a hotel until after World War l l. Later architectural changes were made
and the West wing and the facade were reworked. In 1977 Godtel Ministries purchased the property
and is the present owner of the Redland Hotel. (Historical Plaque, The Heritage Club of Nacogdoches)


(Next Picture: Main Street in Historic Nacogdoches)
(Outline)
(Thumbnails)